☰ Menu

Kyrie Irving, Dion Waiters and Tyler Zeller chosen for Team USA minicamp

By Jason Lloyd Published: June 12, 2013

Kyrie Irving, Dion Waiters and Tyler Zeller will participate in a minicamp for the U.S. national team, making the Cavaliers the only NBA team with three representatives at the four-day camp.

USA Basketball officially released the list of 27 players on Wednesday. Irving’s inclusion was a foregone conclusion and confirmed by USA Basketball Chairman Jerry Colangelo in March, but Waiters and Zeller are two of six players coming off their rookie seasons invited to the camp.

The camp is designed to serve as a sort of feeder program for Team USA. Kevin Durant, Derrick Rose, Russell Westbrook, Kevin Love, Rudy Gay, Eric Gordon, Danny Granger and Andre Iguodala all participated in the same minicamp in 2009 and ultimately advanced to play on gold-medal teams at both the 2010 World Championship and the 2012 Olympics. The invited players will gather in Las Vegas on July 21 and train daily before an intrasquad game completes the camp on July 25.

"The group of players we have assembled for the mini-camp are extremely talented and very versatile,” Colangelo said. “This is an important opportunity for each one of them because we will be evaluating which players will continue to be involved in future USA National Team training camps and teams.”

Waiters and Zeller will already be in Las Vegas, since they are expected to play for the Cavs’ summer league team. Irving established himself last summer in scrimmages against the Olympic team as a member of the U.S. Select team.

Joining the Cavs players are: Ryan Anderson (New Orleans Pelicans); Harrison Barnes (Golden State Warriors); Bradley Beal (Washington Wizards); Mike Conley (Memphis Grizzlies); DeMarcus Cousins (Sacramento Kings); Anthony Davis (New Orleans Pelicans); DeMar DeRozan (Toronto Raptors); Andre Drummond (Detroit Pistons); Kenneth Faried (Denver Nuggets); Derrick Favors (Utah Jazz); Paul George (Indiana Pacers); Taj Gibson (Chicago Bulls); Gordon Hayward (Utah Jazz); Jrue Holiday (Philadelphia 76ers); DeAndre Jordan (Los Angeles Clippers); Ty Lawson (Denver Nuggets); Kawhi Leonard (San Antonio Spurs); Damian Lillard (Portland Trail Blazers); Greg Monroe (Detroit Pistons); Chandler Parsons (Houston Rockets); Larry Sanders (Milwaukee Bucks); Klay Thompson (Golden State Warriors); Kemba Walker (Charlotte Bobcats) and John Wall(Washington Wizards).


Prev Next