☰ Menu

Big Ten releases Ohio State football schedule for 2014; Michigan, Kent State play in Columbus

By Ron Ledgard Published: May 16, 2013

Ohio State issued a statement after the Big Ten released the football schedule for 2014. The Buckeyes will play host to Kent State and Michigan. It also will be the first season that Rutgers and Maryland are in the Big Ten.

As part of the new alignment, the Buckeyes will not play Iowa, Nebraska, Wisconsin, Purdue and Northwestern.

Here is the statement from Columbus:

2014 Ohio State Football Schedule

First two B1G games vs. Maryland & Rutgers; No games vs. Iowa, Neb., NU, Purdue & Wisc.

COLUMBUS, Ohio– The Big Ten office announced the conference schedule for the 2014 football season today, as approved by the Big Ten Directors of Athletics. The 2014 schedule will consist of eight games for each of the Big Ten’s 14 teams, feature a new division alignment, include the conference debut of Maryland and Rutgers and culminate with the fourth annual Big Ten Football Championship Game.

One week after Rutgers hosts Penn State in the initial Big Ten game of 2014 (and only conference game on Sept. 13), Ohio State will kick off its 2014 Big Ten season with the first of consecutive games against the two newest members of the Big Ten, Maryland and Rutgers. The Buckeyes travel to College Park, Md., Oct. 4 for their first-ever game against the Terrapins at Capital One Field at Byrd Stadium and, following an off week, host the Rutgers Scarlet Knights Oct. 18 at Ohio Stadium.

The game with Rutgers will start a stretch of seven consecutive weeks of games for Ohio State as both of its off weeks – Sept. 6 and Oct. 11 – occur in the first seven weeks of the season. Following the Rutgers game, Ohio State plays at Penn State (Oct. 25), hosts Illinois (Nov. 1), goes on the road for consecutive games against Michigan State (Nov. 8) and Minnesota (Nov. 15), and closes with home games against Indiana (Nov. 22) and Michigan (Nov. 29).

Ohio State’s 2014 non-conference schedule includes games against Navy in Baltimore at the Baltimore Ravens’ M&T Bank Stadium (Aug. 30) and three home games in Ohio Stadium: Sept. 13 vs. Kent State; Sept. 20 vs. Virginia Tech and Sept. 27 vs. Cincinnati.

Big Ten teams from the West Division Ohio State will not play in the 2014 regular season: Iowa, Nebraska, Northwestern, Purdue and Wisconsin. Here is a look at all of the East Division’s “no plays” for 2014:

Indiana: Illinois, Minnesota, Nebraska, Northwestern, Wisconsin

Maryland: Illinois, Minnesota, Nebraska, Northwestern, Purdue

Michigan: Illinois, Iowa, Nebraska, Purdue, Wisconsin

Michigan State: Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, Northwestern, Wisconsin

Ohio State: Iowa, Nebraska, Northwestern, Purdue, Wisconsin

Penn State: Iowa, Minnesota, Nebraska, Purdue, Wisconsin

Rutgers: Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, Northwestern, Purdue

2014 Ohio State Football Schedule

Aug. 30 – vs. Navy (at Baltimore’s M&T Bank Stadium)

Sept. 6 – Off

Sept. 13 – Kent State

Sept. 20 – Virginia Tech

Sept. 27 – Cincinnati

Oct. 4 – at Maryland

Oct. 11 – Off

Oct. 18 – Rutgers

Oct. 25 – at Penn State

Nov. 1 – Illinois

Nov. 8 – at Michigan State

Nov. 15 – at Minnesota

Nov. 22 – Indiana

Nov. 29 – Michigan

Dec. 6 – Big Ten Championship Game

Add This


Prev Next



Black Jack with a twist!


Compete in fun quizzes updated daily!


The classic card game you love with a twist!


Dab your cards, yell 'Bingo' and win big!

Most Read Stories