All CATEGORIES
☰ Menu

NBC Soccer Telecasts Will Include Porter's Portland Team Vs. L.A. Galaxy

By Rich Heldenfels Published: January 9, 2013

Former University of Akron soccer coach Caleb Porter's new gig as Portland Timbers coach will get several showcases on NBC and NBC Sports Network, including a fall contest versus MLS champs the L.A. Galaxy You can also see Portland play the Seattle Sounders, owned in part by Drew Carey (who, lest we forget, went to Kent State).

NBCSN, by the way, is on Time Warner 323 and, for HD, 1323,

The long official word:

NBC Sports Group, in the second season of its partnership with Major League Soccer, will air 41 regular season games across NBC and NBC Sports Network in the 2013 season. Three MLS regular-season games will air on NBC, with 38 on NBC Sports Network, beginning with a rematch of the 2012 Eastern Conference Championship between the Houston Dynamo and D.C. United on Saturday, March 2 – the first nationally televised game of the 2013 season.

Highlights of NBC Sports Group’s 2013 MLS Season:

The first nationally televised MLS match of the season Houston Dynamo vs. D.C. United on Saturday, March 2, at 8 p.m. ET on NBC Sports Network, a rematch of the 2012 Eastern Conference Championship.

“Rivalry Weekend” – Unprecedented wall-to-wall coverage on NBC and NBC Sports Network during “Rivalry Weekend” on Saturday, March 16, during which the networks will cover all MLS games that day.


NBC begins the day with the New York Red Bulls vs. D.C. United at 12:30 p.m. ET, from Red Bull Arena in Harrison, N.J. NBC Sports Network will air two more games that day, beginning with Sporting KC vs. Chicago Fire at 3 p.m. ET, and the Seattle Sounders host the Portland Timbers later that night.


After calling the New York Red Bulls-D.C. United match, NBC Sports Group’s MLS announce team of Arlo White (play-by-play) and Kyle Martino (“Between-the-Benches” analyst) and Russ Thaler (host), will travel to the new NBC Sports Group studios in Stamford, Conn., to host a studio “whip around” showcasing coverage of the rest of that day’s MLS games.


Three nationally televised games on NBC: New York Red Bulls vs. D.C. United on Mar. 16 at 12:30 p.m. ET, LA Galaxy vs. Portland Timbers on Sept. 29 at 3:30 p.m. ET, and Houston Dynamo vs. D.C. United on Sun., Oct. 27 at 1:30 p.m. ET.

 

Six games featuring MLS Cup Champion LA Galaxy, including Sun., September 29, on NBC at Portland.

 

All new episodes of MLS 36, the original series that follows a player for 36 hours prior to game time. ...


NBC SPORTS GROUP 2013 MLS SCHEDULE:

Date Away Home Times ET Network

Sat. Mar. 2 D.C. United Houston 8 PM NBCSN

Sun. Mar. 9 New England Chicago 7:30 PM NBCSN

Sat. Mar. 16 D.C. United New York 12:30 PM NBC

Sat. Mar. 16 Chicago Kansas City 3 PM NBCSN

Sat. Mar. 16 Portland Seattle TBD NBCSN

Sat. Mar. 23 Columbus D.C. United 3:30 PM NBCSN

Sat. Mar. 30 Philadelphia New York 3:30 PM NBCSN

Sat. Apr. 6 Real Salt Lake Colorado 3:30 PM NBCSN

Sat. Apr. 13 LA Galaxy Dallas 3:30 PM NBCSN

Sun. Apr. 14 San Jose Portland 10:30 PM NBCSN

Sat. Apr. 20 Kansas City LA Galaxy 10:30 PM NBCSN

Sat. Apr. 27 Chicago Montreal 4 PM NBCSN

Sat. May 4 New York Columbus 4 PM NBCSN

Sat. May 11 Philadelphia Chicago 1:30 PM NBCSN

Sun. May 26 Houston Kansas City 3:30 PM NBCSN

Sun. June 2 LA Galaxy New England 4 PM NBCSN

Sun. June 23 Colorado Portland 7 PM NBCSN

Sat. June 29 Dallas Philadelphia 5:30 PM NBCSN

Sat. July 6 Seattle Vancouver 11 PM NBCSN

Sat. July 13 LA Galaxy Portland 11 PM NBCSN

Sat. July 20 Colorado Seattle 11 PM NBCSN

Sat. July 27 Chicago Houston 8 PM NBCSN

Sat. Aug. 3 New York Kansas City 8 PM NBCSN

Sat. Aug. 10 D.C. United Philadelphia 8 PM NBCSN

Sat. Aug. 17 Philadelphia New York 8 PM NBCSN

Fri. Aug. 23 Kansas City Chicago 8:30 PM NBCSN

Fri. Aug. 30 Portland Real Salt Lake 10 PM NBCSN

Sat. Aug. 31 D.C. United New York 8 PM NBCSN

Sat. Sept. 7 Chicago Seattle 10 PM NBCSN

Fri. Sept. 13 Real Salt Lake Seattle 10 PM NBCSN

Fri. Sept. 20 Colorado Portland 10 PM NBCSN

Sat. Sept. 21 Seattle LA Galaxy 10:30 PM NBCSN

Fri. Sept. 27 Philadelphia Kansas City 8 PM NBCSN

Sun. Sept. 29 LA Galaxy Portland 3:30 PM NBC

Fri. Oct. 4 Chicago D.C. United 8 PM NBCSN

Sat. Oct. 5 Seattle Colorado 10 PM NBCSN

Fri. Oct. 18 D.C. United Kansas City 8 PM NBCSN

Sat. Oct. 19 Seattle Dallas 4 PM NBCSN

Sat. Oct. 26 Kansas City Philadelphia 3 PM NBCSN

Sat. Oct. 26 Dallas San Jose 5:30 PM NBCSN

Sun. Oct. 27 Houston D.C. United 1:30 PM NBC


All games on NBC and NBC Sports Network will consist of on-site pre-game and post-game coverage.


 














 

Print
Add This
MORE IN SPORTS MORE IN SPORTS >
EDITORS' PICKS

OHIO.COM VIDEOS

Prev Next

Most Read Stories