☰ Menu

Bob Feller Act of Valor Award nominees announced

UPublish story by Mike Kovack

The nominees for the initial Bob Feller Act of Valor award were announced Sunday, July 7th at Progressive Field before the Indians/Tigers game. Nick Swisher of the Cleveland Indians and Justin Verlander of the Detroit Tigers are two of the five finalists for the award. Cole Hamels of the Philadelphia Phillies, Justin Morneau of the Minnesota Twins and Ross Detwiler of the Washington Nationals round out the finalists.

Medina County Auditor and Bob Feller Act of Valor Award Board Member Mike Kovack was present for the ceremony along with Mrs. Anne Feller and Bob Dibiasio of the Cleveland Indians. Bob Feller volunteered for duty with the United States Navy the day after Pearl Harbor and served 4 years aboard the battleship USS Alabama in the Pacific and North Atlantic, earning 8 battle stars and rising to the rank of Chief Petty Officer. Feller, considered to be the greatest Cleveland Indians pitcher ever, was later voted into Baseball's Hall of Fame in his first year of eligibility.

The Bob Feller Act of Valor award will honor one active major leaguer, one Hall of Famer and one Navy Chief Petty Officer to pay homage to Feller's contributions in all three areas.

This story was provided by an individual or organization for use on the community site, We do not endorse and cannot guarantee the accuracy of this posting, though we do reject announcements with inappropriate content. You can read our full user agreement here.

Story tools

Email  Email   Print  Print   Reprint  Reprint   Popular  Most Popular   Subscribe  Subscribe

Share this story


Prev Next