The village of Owego in New York's Tioga County has voted to ban hydraulic fracturing or fracking for one year.

It is expected that New York will permit fracking in the Marcellus shale in five counties in the so-called Southern Tier near the New York-Pennsylvania border when local municipalities agree.

The counties are Broome, Chemung, Chenango, Tioga and Steuben.

To date, Owego is the second community to block drilling. The other is the city of Binghamton.

The village said its action was tied to drilling concerns and the need to develop a master plan to cope with flooding.