427 Design

The Akron Chapter of the American Advertising Federation announced that the Akron-based creative firm won a National Gold ADDY Award for its Flite Test Poster entry.

Canton Palace Theatre

The following members were elected to serve on the board of directors: Cathy Wyatt, Carla Derr, Jessica Preston, Laura Baloun, Mary Beth Medford, Rodney Conrad, Pat Ripple, Jeffrey A. Clark, Janet Weir Creighton, the Rev. David L. DeVries, Charles Hall III, Chris Kaboth, Leslie Iams Kuntz, JuDeane Luntz, J. Britton Morrow, Patrice Rittenhouse, John Streb, Cassandra Thomas and Carol Vaughn.


Tom Hager

The managing partner at Schlabig & Associates earned the title of National Social Security Advisor through the accreditation process from the National Social Security Association. He also earned a life insurance and annuity accreditation through the Ohio Department of Insurance.

Marie Brilmyer

The associate director at SS&G in Akron was installed to a two-year term on the 2013-2014 Executive Board by the Ohio Society of CPAs.

Denise Lee

The Tallmadge Branch library manager was honored by the Tallmadge Chamber of Commerce with the Investment in the Future Award. This award recognizes work done with youths aimed at improving employment opportunities.

Dennis Nordquest

The Akron General director of physician relations was named the 2012-2013 “Outstanding National Host Client” by Practice Management Institute (PMI). Chosen nationally from among hundreds of PMI hospitals, medical society, physician service group and program host partners, Nordquest has been recognized by PMI for networking and relationship building abilities, and for commitment to his organization’s physician community.


Pearle Vision

Dr. Richard E. Hults has assumed ownership of the Pearle Vision eye care center in Akron, located at 3893 Medina Road. Hults has been a resident of the Akron area for nearly three decades and spent the past 28 years as a practicing optometrist.