Each year, the Greater Akron Chamber chooses 30 young professionals — ages 25 to 39 — for recognition, giving each a “30 for the Future” award.

The annual leadership awards are designed to be more than pats on the back.

The chamber says the awards are part of its efforts to attract and retain talent in the region.

The chamber seeks nominations from regional for-profit and nonprofit organizations, including area young professional groups.

Committees then selected the recipients based on nominees’ professional and community accomplishments, the chamber said.

Here is the list for 2013:

•?Michael Andric, Barberton City Schools.

•?Nichole M. Booker, United Way of Summit County.

•?Patrick L. Bravo, Summit County.

•?Marie Brilmyer, SS&G Inc.

•?Jeffrey S. Buckshaw, Bruner-Cox LLP;

•?Brian Canterbury, M.D., Akron General Medical Center;

•?Michelle A. Carano, Meaden & Moore;

•?Getta Cornici, Summit County Juvenile Court;

•?Ralph Davila, WhiteSpace Creative;

•?Brandi M. Davis, Akron Public Schools (Schumacher Elementary);

•?Matt Duncan, Buckingham, Doolittle & Burroughs, LLP;

•?Carrie M. Dunn, FirstEnergy Corp.;

•?Jennifer L. Eaton, Summa Health System;

•?Leanne Graham, Victim Assistance Program;

•?Leigh Greenfelder, Highland Public Relations;

•?Elizabeth Kozenko, Cohen & Co. Ltd.;

•?Todd Lisy, M.D., Pioneer Physicians Network;

•?Jennifer Logsdon, FedEx Truckload Brokerage;

•?Leslianne Love, Old Carolina Barbecue Co.;

•?Timothy J. Madden, Biodynamicz LLC;

•?Kevin M. McCauley, Bridgestone;

•?J.J. Mesko-Kimmich, White Hat Management;

•?Phil Montgomery, city of Akron;

•?Christopher James Richardson, Oriana House Inc. (ADM Crisis Center);

•?E. Demond Scott, Summa Health System;

•?Kathryn Strand, Kent State University;

•?Aaron Swartz, Ernst & Young;

•?Katie Swartz, Acme Fresh Market;

•?Jennifer Dawn Towell, Akron Municipal Court;

•?Michael Wilson, Akron-Canton Regional Foodbank.

The award recipients will be recognized at a Sept. 12 ceremony — open to the public — at the Tangier restaurant in Akron.

Individual tickets are $50 for Chamber members and $60 for nonmembers. Sponsorships for the event are available. Call Angela Presutti at 330-237-1263.

To RSVP for the event, go online to www.greaterakronchamber.org and click on the Events Calendar.