Ed Dieringer of Akron is this yearís winner of the Ohio Environmental Health Associationís Ivan Baker Membership Recognition Award. Dieringer is a registered sanitarian for the Akron Department of Public Service and has received three past Excellence Awards from the cityís health department.


Several students at the University of Akron were inducted into Beta Gamma Sigma, the honor society for the business college. Akron-area inductees were Claudia Bertram, Hinckley, human resource management; Alexandra O. Bilas, Norton, accounting; Jonathan Biscardi, Kent, corporate finance; Andrew Geiser, Orrville, accounting; Monica Higgins, Wadsworth, accounting; Elysia Horstman, Cuyahoga Falls, accounting; Marie Kenepp, Munroe Falls, marketing; Emily King, Doylestown, accounting; Joel Kirbawy, Akron, accounting; Natalie Micale, Stow, accounting; Daniel W. Morton, Wadsworth, information systems management; Elizabeth A. Moyer, Copley, accounting; Kristen Pero, Norton, accounting; Kimberly L. Petroff, Barberton, business administration; Zachary Powers, Stow, accounting; Kristen Sage, Copley, accounting and corporate finance; Staci Seus, Uniontown, accounting; Danielle Shaffer, North Canton, accounting and human resource management; Eric Michael Simon, Macedonia, accounting; Timothy B. Skinner, Garrettsville, business administration; Rachel Tecca, Tallmadge, marketing; and Morgan Underwood, Alliance, accounting.

This yearís winner of the $1,000 Bernard R. Spechalske Scholarship at the Medina County Credit Union is Meredith Cozette Rittman of Archbishop Hoban High School in Akron. She is the daughter of Mike and Judy Rittman of Medina. She plans to study biomedical engineering. The winner of the $1,000 Memorial Scholarship Award is Hayley Marie McQuate, daughter of Darryl and Renee McQuate of Wadsworth. She plans to major in business at Lorain County Community College.

University of Akron student Alyssa Taylor of Wadsworth was inducted into Golden Key International Honour Society. Golden Key recognizes top-performing college students.

Several Akron-area students received departmental awards from Ashland University: Jennifer Winkler of West Salem, the Senior Award (art); Aaron Tipton of Wadsworth, the Sophomore Award (chemistry, geology and physics); Megan Wise of North Canton, the Junior Award (communication studies); Cody White of Wooster, the Senior Award (communication studies); Elliot Rawson of Wooster, the Senior Award (criminal justice and sociology); Kelli Fleming of Orrville, the Sophomore Award (foreign languages); Meghan Ellsworth of North Canton, the Senior Award (journalism and digital media); Shawn Yambor of West Salem, the Senior Award (psychology); Leah Chalet of Hudson, the Senior Award (accounting and information systems); Caitlin Grey of Wadsworth, the Junior Award (management, entrepreneurship and international business); David Mohn of Uniontown, the Sophomore Award (foundations, inquiry and community education); Angie Ellis of Wooster, the Senior Award (foundations, inquiry and community education); Brandy Schaad of Wooster, the Senior Award (inclusive services and exceptional learners); Emlyn Knerem of Brunswick, the Senior Award (sports sciences); and Jacoby Baab of Wooster, the Junior Award (community and global health).

The winner of the fiction award in Malone Universityís inaugural Writers Prize Competition was Joshua Graber, a sophomore English major from Akron.

Several Akron-area students were honored at Xavier Universityís All Honors Day. They included Ariel McNair of Aurora, the Athletic Directorís Award; Mark Perry of Doylestown, the Excellence in Taxation Award; Caitrin Reilly of Medina, the Connolly Award (for study of medieval Christian literature); Ethan Hedrick of Valley City, the John F. Niehaus Award (for study in computer science); Brittani Peltz of Wadsworth, Achieving Seniors Award (for athletes with high grade point averages); Margaret Woods of Akron, the Deanís Athletic Award; Ashley Steurer of Akron, the McCoy Education Award; and Kara Silagy of North Canton, the Nursing Mission Award for Service. Anna Wiley of Medina was inducted into Alpha Sigma Nu, the Jesuit honor society.

Stephanie Foxworth of Akron, a December 2010 GED graduate from J.O.G. our WAY in Akron and a current student at the University of Akron, was honored as a Global Young Entrepreneur of the Year by the Network for Teaching Entrepreneurship. For creating a micro-business that produces specialty, gift-wrapped, chocolate-covered fruit, she received a $5,000 Ernst & Young Scholarship and $500.

Fashions by two Akron-area students were selected to be part of the juried Columbus College of Art & Design Senior Fashion Show. Fifty-four designs by 15 senior design students will be included in the May show. Local designers are Amanda Mae Smith of Canton, a graduate of Jackson High School, and Alyssa Johnson of Aurora, a graduate of Aurora High School.

Chad Miller, formerly of Medina, was named the 2012 Hawaii State Teacher of the Year. He was selected from 13,000 teachers to represent the stateís public school system in the national competition. Miller teaches English at Kailua High School in Honolulu.

The 2012 winners of Malone Universityís Distinguished Faculty Awards were psychology professor Matt Phelps (for teaching), English professor Diane Chambers (for service) and history professor Jay Case (for scholarship). The Outstanding Staff Employee was Patti Elkins, a facilities coordinator in the registrarís office. Sandy Johnson, director of orientation and special programs, was named Outstanding Administrative Employee.

Send notices of school, community and military achievement to Carol Biliczky at or fax them to 330-996-3729.