Carol Biliczky

Fourteen Akron-area residents have been tapped for the third annual Woodrow Wilson Ohio Teaching Fellowships.

State officials said the new fellows were among 77 adult career-changers or recent college graduates who will spend the next year earning a masterís degree at one of the seven partner universities statewide.

The graduates agree to teach science, technology, engineering and/or math in high-need secondary schools in Ohio for at least three years in exchange for $30,000 awards.

Local winners are Shelly Anderson of Wadsworth; Kelly Dine of Hudson; Christina Friedl of Akron; Georgia Kouvas-Lilly of Akron; Christopher Kuzas of Cuyahoga Falls; Cory Reinhart of East Canton; Jessica York and her husband, Matthew York, both of Akron; and Jay Lietzow of Massillon, who all will attend the University of Akron.

Alex Blohm of Stow will attend Ohio State; Cherise Johnson of Akron, John Carroll University; Dean Kelley of Canton and Rex Payne of Massillon, Ohio University; and Shelby McElroy of Aurora, the University of Toledo.

Additionally, Stacey Pavlik of New Middleton and Janette Newton of Seattle will attend UA.

The Woodrow Wilson National Fellowship Foundation of Princeton, N.J., administers the program, while the Cleveland Foundation, George Gund Foundation and other nonprofits also contribute.

UA is providing $500,000 for five years to fund the program at the local level. The contribution funds some of the tuition remission that fellows receive from the university, which is in addition to their Wilson stipend.

Carol Biliczky can be reached at or 330-996-3729.