Ohio.com staff

The Akron Council of Engineering and Scientific Societies (ACCESS) has chosen Satyendra Kumar, Ph.D., professor of physics at Kent State University, to receive the Distinguished Award of Council.

The award is given annually to one outstanding Akron-area citizen who has demonstrated excellence in involvement in civic activities, as well as managerial and technical abilities. Award recipients are considered to have enhanced the image of the engineering and scientific professional overall. The award has been given every year since 1959.

This year's winner, Satyendra Kumar, has been a professor at Kent State since 1987. He holds bachelor's and master's degrees from the Physics Honors School at Panjab University, India, a Master of Science degree from the University of Nebraska, and a doctorate from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

The university named Kumar a Distinguished Scholar in 2007, and has also been awarded the National Science Foundation (NSF) Director's Award for Merit Review Excellence, Interdisciplinary Condensed Matter Physics Team in 2007 after working as a director there.

Kumar holds a long list of credentials for his work, and anyone interested can read more about them on Kent State University's website here.