The 2017 Indians became the third team in franchise history to reach 100 regular-season wins with a 5-2 victory over the Minnesota Twins on Thursday at Progressive Field in Cleveland.

Carlos Carrasco pitched 8⅓ shutout innings and struck out 14 and the Indians got home runs from Jason Kipnis, Roberto Perez and Jay Bruce.

The Indians also reached 100 wins in 1954 (111-43) and 1995 (100-44). Both of those teams lost in the World Series. The 1954 team was swept in four games by the New York Giants and the 1995 team lost in six games to the Atlanta Braves.

Indians manager Terry Francona had never managed a 100-win team in his 16 previous years as a manager. Francona did lead the Boston Red Sox to two World Series championships in 2004 (98 regular-season wins) and 2007 (96 regular-season wins).

The 2017 Los Angeles Dodgers became the 100th team to win 100 regular-season games since 1892. Of the first 99 to reach 100 wins, 35 won the World Series. Four of those teams competed before there was a World Series and eight teams that won 100 games failed to reach the playoffs.

The latest team to win 100 games and not make the playoffs was the 1993 San Francisco Giants, who won 103 games and finished second in the National League West to the Braves, who won 104 games and then lost in the National League Championship Series.

The 1978 New York Yankees were the only team to reach 100 wins with multiple managers. The Yankees, owned by George Steinbrenner, had three managers (Billy Martin, Dick Howser and Bob Lemon) during the 1978 season and went on to win the World Series.

The Indians and Dodgers could become the eighth set of 100-win teams to meet in the World Series. The last time it happened was in 1970, when the Baltimore Orioles (108 wins) beat the Cincinnati Reds (102 wins).

Neither of the two teams that share the record for most wins in a regular season with 116, the 1906 Cubs and the 2001 Seattle Mariners, won the World Series. The Cubs lost in the World Series and the Mariners lost in the American League Championship Series.