Seven Akron pitchers were roughed up Sunday afternoon at All Pro Freight Stadium in Avon as Northern Illinois pounded out 18 hits in a 14-4 win over Akron.

The Huskies (8-17, 4-2 in the Mid-American Conference) swept the weekend series over the host Zips, outscoring Akron 20-8.

On Sunday, seven NIU batters had two hits or more. They took a 4-1 lead in the second inning and added nine runs in the sixth.

The Zips got 10 hits off the five Huskies pitchers. Joey Havrilak hit a triple to center in the ninth inning; it was the first triple of the season for the Zips. Devan Ahart had a single and a double, while Matt Larocca was 2-for-4 for Akron (4-20, 2-4).

The Zips return to the diamond Tuesday for a 3 p.m. matchup with Pittsburgh at Canal Park.


The University of Akron menís basketball team will commemorate its 2012-13 season with a celebration on April 12 at James A. Rhodes Arena. Social hour begins at 6 p.m. with a dinner buffet and awards ceremony to follow at 7 p.m. The event is open to the public and costs $20 per person if reserved by Friday. ($30 per person after Friday). Admission for the event is $10 for children age 12 and under, as well as UA students with a valid student ID. Tables with seating for 10 people, can be purchased for $150. Dress for the event is casual. For more information on the event, call 330-972-7781.

The Zips were 26-7 overall and 14-2 in the MAC this year. They won their second consecutive MAC regular season title. The Zips held the nationís longest winning streak (19 games) this season, had its first national ranking and posted a league-best seven straight MAC Tournament title game appearances.

By beating Ohio in the MAC Championship game, the Zips advanced to their third NCAA Tournament under head coach Keith Dambrot in the past nine years.

Akron also tied the school record for wins with 26, marking the eighth straight season the Zips have won at least 22 games. Akron is just one of six teams in Division I to post at least 22 wins every year since the 2005-06 season. Others include Duke, Gonzaga, Kansas, Ohio State and Pittsburgh.