The Greater Akron Chamber has named local businessman Philip H. Maynard as the 2018 recipient of the H. Peter Burg Economic Development Leadership Award.

Maynard, chairman of ASW Properties, Ltd., will be the 14th recipient of the award, named after the late civic leader and chairman of Akronís FirstEnergy Corp. Last year, the late Summit County Executive Russ Pry was given the award posthumously. Other previous award winners have also been Tony Alexander, retired FirstEnergy CEO and LeBron James.

Maynard will be honored March 22 at the Greater Akron Chamberís 111th annual meeting, to be held at the John S. Knight Center. This award recognizes Maynard as someone who has displayed paramount leadership for the advancement of Greater Akronís economic and community development, the chamber said.

The award was created in memory of H. Peter Burg by the Chamberís Executive Committee to recognize a leader who embraces economic and community development in the Greater Akron region.

To register for the annual meeting, go online to, email or call 330-376-5550. Reservations should be made by March 15.